Genuinely custom items: categories

What problem are you trying to solve?

I want to add new item categories, beyond the list of video games through apps.

Explain your ideal solution

The ability to actually “add new items”, such as “course” as in online courses from Skillshare or Udemy, being able to define the information fields myself: subject, hours, etc. having a template or template options to work with.

For myself I would be happy to be able to repurpose existing items; I have no use for video games as an item, not part of my life. Just let me edit it to be what does enter into my life. (incidentally, I would want to mess with that list, too, rearranging it…apps are the biggest category for me, while videogames are a null category, so they are inconveniently placed for me…)

How are you currently solving this problem today?

I am very new to sofa and in the throes of bending it to my will. But for my “courses” example, I am thinking I will or would create a Study group, then lists broken up by course offering entity, or perhaps by area of study?

Then, in the list itself…if I felt determined to make this happen I would add an existing category item, like podcasts, give it the course name. Then use the sticky to put online course offering entity, something like this. But that is only really useful if I had more control over the sticky note fonts, making them bigger so the name of the website is easy to read quickly.

But I don’t like it. Very unsatisfying, complicated solution, especially beside all the neatly organized pre-created items

Thanks for the detailed suggestion! This is an interesting use-case I haven’t given much thought to. Is there another app you’re currently using to manage the courses? Also, are they other things you’d expect to manage as a custom item other than courses?

I knew you were going to ask this question. Now that I know I have your attention, I beg forgiveness and I ask you to brace yourself…